The Trust

          The Chennai Snake Park Trust is a not-for-profit NGO constituted in 1972, primarily on the initiative of the well-known herpetologist, Romulus Whitaker. Seven of the trustees are elected and five are ex officio.

Names of Trustees
Elected Ex officio

  • Shri B. Vijayaraghavan, IAS (Retd.)
    Executive Chairman (from 24.12.1993)
  • Dr.M.G.Jayathangaraj (from 24.03.2012)
  • Dr. S. Paulraj, IFS (Retd.) (from 10.10.2009)
  • Shri. V.S. Raghavan (from 04.12.1995)
  • Dr. K. Senthilkumar (from 27.06.2015)
  • Shri S. Subbarayalu Naidu, IFS (Retd.)
    (from 22.06.1996)
  • Dr.T.Sundaramoorthy (from 12.08.1995)

  • Wildlife Warden, Chennai, Govt. of Tamil Nadu
  • Jt. Director, Tourism Dept, Govt. of Tamil Nadu
  • Officer-in-Charge
    Zoological Survey of India
    Southern Regional Station, Chennai
  • Regional Deputy Director, Wildlife Crime Control
    Bureau (SR), Govt. Of India, Chennai
  • Head, Dept. of Zoology, Madras University

          The office of the Executive Chairman is honorary. He is assisted by the Director. Under the Director, are the animal keepers, office staff and others.